Review: Calbee Zeitaku Schokora Chocolate x Potato Chips (with Royce Chocolate)

Brand: Calbee

Flavor: “Luxurious choco” (贅沢ショコラ)

Size: 52g

Calories: 295 kcal

Score: 8/10

No matter which country you live in, chocolate-covered potato chips have probably arrived to you by now as everyone jumps on the sweet and savory flavor train, and if they haven’t, that is a shame, because they are Pretty Good. I went into this with zero expectations because I’ve only ever eaten chocolate chips a few other times, and they were really stale, so that kind of set the bar low for all my future attempts at eating chocolate chips. I have to say though, I was pleasantly surprised.

If you are ever planning on eating this particular chip flavor (or any chocolate covered potato chips for that matter), PLEASE do yourself a favor and refrigerate them for at least an hour before eating. It might feel weird to put a bag of chips in the fridge but it will save you from getting as much chocolate as I did all over your hands since it was half melted when I bought it, which kind of put a damper on my experience.

The serving size is a bit smaller than the chips I’ve been eating recently because I bought these at a supermarket and not a convenience store, but to be honest I think the 52g size works just fine for this particular flavor because the combination of chips and chocolate makes them really rich, and they might be initially stomach-turning to someone who hasn’t tried savory sweets before. I have to admit that the first few bites were a little jarring, but they become addictive really fast.

I would highly recommend these to anyone who hasn’t yet eaten chocolate covered chips, but you better jump on it soon, because, as most of the potato chips I’ve seen around, they are limited edition.

Leave a Reply

